Almond Milk from Scratch

For the past several years I have been avoiding cow’s milk when possible.  I’ve been enjoying non-dairy milks with my coffee, smoothies, and granola, and enjoy the taste more than dairy.  My skin thanks me since dairy consumption was causing breakouts and I am FAR beyond my adolescence.  Bye bye dairy!  In addition, one of my clients inspired me to make my own nut milk – something i’ve thought about for awhile but was too intimidated to give the milk-making a try.  I’m excited to report I faced my fear and will never look back.  The taste is unparalleled and I don’t have to worry about any of the fillers, including carageenan, from the “ready-made” packages.

So, here is the super simple recipe…please give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Yield:  2 1/2 C

Ingredients:

1 C raw organic almonds

2 1/2 C filtered water

Pinch sea salt

1 nut bag (or cheesecloth)

medium bowl

Directions:

Place almonds in a bowl and submerge almonds in enough water to cover.  Soak overnight.  In the morning, pour almonds and water through a colander and rinse the almonds.

Place almonds in a high speed blender along with 2 1/2 C filtered water and a pinch of sea salt.  Blend on high for 1-2 minutes.

Pour mixture through your nut bag in to a medium-sized bowl.  Squeeze remaining milk from the bag and pour from bowl in to a mason jar.  Cover and place in fridge.  Will keep for up to a week.

That’s it!  Super simple, right??  The leftover mixture in the nut bag can be made in to a flour for gluten-free baking (using a dehydrator) or can be used “as is” in a smoothie.  I enjoy using it in a smoothie for extra protein and fiber.

Enjoy and Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

